Online Racing, Forza, ProjectCARS, iRacing, Gran Turismo
 
HomeFAQSearchMemberlistRegisterLog in

Share | .
 

 Sebring Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
StalkerStang

avatar

Mustang
Car Number : 90
Home Town : Phoenix, AZ
Join Date : 2013-06-03
Posts : 199

PostSubject: Sebring Review   Tue 20 May 2014, 7:31 pm

Just wanted to post some observations and call attention to some things with Sebring.

First off, congrats to the winners. I know things were shaken up a bit this race with first time winners and in general a change of positions compared to the first 2 events.

GTS: We got off to a rough start on race 1 and had to restart the race. Biggest thing is just to be aware of yourself and the others at all times, but especially at the beginning of the race. This includes myself as well, I know I had a hand in causing some of our early race 1 issues. The main difference us GTS cars have to be aware of is our AWD drivers. They launch on the starts and they launch on corner exit. All drivers including the AWD drivers should be aware that early in the race will be slow going until we fan out a bit.

Also want to say that Laguna should be very tight for the pack as a whole. Adjustments will be less extreme now that I have a better idea where everyone is at.

GT: GT is getting tight now. The builds are more balanced per driver and you guys are experiencing much closer racing. The bad part about this is that there is more chance for contact. Race 1 had a lot of contact by everyone at some point. I would say none of it was intentional but also some of it could have been avoided. While GT doesn't have the AWD's to deal with, there are mid engine cars, front engine, and rear engine cars that all deal with the turns a little differently. If anything GT drivers just need to learn to race better with eachother, not something that can really happen until we have more time in that situation.

In short, just be aware of the other cars around you and be cautious especially early on in the race.

I will be working on builds tonight and hopefully have them out tonight or tomorrow night.

The incident(s) in Race 2 are still being reviewed and the outcome(s) will be discussed with the appropriate people privately.
Back to top Go down
DirtyDawg73

avatar

USA
Car Number : 73
Home Town : Daytona Beach, FL
Join Date : 2013-06-12
Posts : 897

PostSubject: Re: Sebring Review   Tue 20 May 2014, 8:34 pm

Just to toss my 2 cents in, one thing that I found helped me a lot at Sebring was group practice. Squid, Wolfpack, and I ran many practice races over the course of the days leading up to and a few hours leading up to race time last night. As a result, we all knew what to expect when we were close to each other. Hell, I'm willing to bet that, cummulatively through all of our practice races and the actual race, Wolfpack and I probably ran at least 2 full laps side by side. So what happened when we ended up door to door during the race? We stayed that way, without contact, through a few corners that were never meant to be taken side by side.

When there are scheduled official practice sessions and hardly anyone shows up, it can be expected that there is going to be a measure of uncertainty in those around you. And I do realize that some folks have prior commitments, etc. That should pretty much go without saying. I'm just pointing out that there are ample opportunities for drivers to get acclimated to those around them prior to the first race of the night.

Again, that's just my opinion, so take it for what it's worth.
Back to top Go down
http://virtualvintage.forumotion.com/
Moesavy


avatar

USA
Car Number : 20
Home Town : Georgia, Usa
Join Date : 2013-07-24
Posts : 343

PostSubject: Re: Sebring Review   Tue 20 May 2014, 10:55 pm

Putting my 2 cents in. Doesn't matter who you practice with or how anyone drives. You should know where and how your car is gonna handle. If you know u r car it doesn't matter who is around you. You know how deep u can and can't go into a corner. I try to be as clean as possible. Most of you should know by now where your car is good or not. Practicing will not tell you how close u can run with anybody if you don't know the strong points and weak points of your car. Just saying
Back to top Go down
AAR Wolfpack

avatar

USA
Car Number : 88
Home Town : Jackson, NC
Join Date : 2013-10-10
Posts : 96

PostSubject: Re: Sebring Review   Tue 20 May 2014, 11:07 pm

I have to say that the racing with dirtydawg and squid was some of the closest cleanest racing ive ever done. We figured each other out, knew what each of our vehicles were capable of and played to our advantages and raced smart. There was no unnessaccery blocking, holding each other up, bumping or door banging. We would let the guy have the line and try to catch back up using our strenghts to our advantage. I started with the car terrible in the draft and losing the nose in the corners to finally getting that aero off the nose to be an advantage. Hell when I caught onto squid I went .300 a lap faster. It was pure racing with no drama or angryness and it was a chess match that was a hell of a lot of fun. It was on track respect but also really hard driving that really never stepped over the line.
Back to top Go down
StalkerStang

avatar

Mustang
Car Number : 90
Home Town : Phoenix, AZ
Join Date : 2013-06-03
Posts : 199

PostSubject: Re: Sebring Review   Wed 21 May 2014, 12:31 am

I will say when I caught onto you and Squid in race 2 I started going much faster than durring the rest of the race.
Back to top Go down
AAR Wolfpack

avatar

USA
Car Number : 88
Home Town : Jackson, NC
Join Date : 2013-10-10
Posts : 96

PostSubject: Re: Sebring Review   Wed 21 May 2014, 6:04 am

yeah the draft had a huge effect
Back to top Go down
ROSCOEpCOTRAIN


avatar

Cadillac
Car Number : 33
Home Town : WNY/THE LAND OF LAKE EFFECT
Join Date : 2013-04-10
Posts : 1045

PostSubject: Re: Sebring Review   Wed 21 May 2014, 11:42 am

.... @muffin though I will undoubtedly get in trouble for this... Thats why your in gts Jr... The big boys bang!!!
Back to top Go down
AAR Wolfpack

avatar

USA
Car Number : 88
Home Town : Jackson, NC
Join Date : 2013-10-10
Posts : 96

PostSubject: Re: Sebring Review   Wed 21 May 2014, 3:10 pm

I chose to race in GTS Smile I honestly didnt look at the list of drivers but I do enjoy racing against some different people. I looked at the car list for "Chevy Camaro" didnt matter which class it was in it was going to be my stede.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Sebring Review   

Back to top Go down
 

Sebring Review

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» Codex: Orks review from Dakka Dakka
» DRIVER BLOG: Slider S15 - LMS Round 1 - Sebring
» Quick War of the Ring Review
» Something new: VM 12h of SEBRING 2011
» Madcat MC2 Racing Wheel short rambling halfarsed review

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
NSA Forums :: NSA Racing League :: NSA on Forza 4 (XBox 360) :: Pirelli World Challenge GT/GTS :: General Discussion-